2004 Call for Nominations
for the
Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize
for Excellence in
Computer Algebra Software Engineering

Home Awards Procedures Richard Jenks Bio Administration

The first Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize for excellence in software engineering for computer algebra will be awarded at ISSAC 2004 in Santander, Spain in July, 2004. The prize will consist of a plaque and a cash award of $1,000.

Nominations, including self nominations, for this prize are hereby solicited. Each nomination should be accompanied by a carefully completed nomination form. Candidates (or their nominators) should arrange to have two to five confidential letters of recommendation submitted by persons who are familiar with the nominee's software engineering achievements in computer algebra. Software engineering will be interpreted broadly, but it should be an important component in the work of any nominee. The nominee can be an individual or a team, when the latter is appropriate. Any questions about the suitability of a given body of work for the prize should be directed to a member of the prize committee as listed below.

All nominations must be received by May 1, 2004.

The initial prize winner will be selected by a committee consisting of the following individuals:
Manuel Bronstein, INRIA email: Manuel.Bronstein@sophia.inria.fr
Bob Caviness, Univ of Delaware email: caviness@cis.udel.edu
James Davenport, Univ of Bath email: J.H.Davenport@maths.Bath.ac.UK
Patrizia Gianni, Univ of Pisa email: gianni@dm.unipi.it
Barry Trager, IBM Research email: bmt@watson.ibm.com

All nominations and supporting papers should be sent to Prof. Caviness either by email to caviness@cis.udel.edu or by post to

Prof. B. F. Caviness
3113 Bentley Court
Winston-Salem, NC 27104-1800
This page has been visited Page counter times since February 12, 2004.